Hello bricks

The writings been a bit sporadic this year. After Christmas there was a bit of a lull. I changed builders, I went on holiday which far from being a bad idea, is actually essential during a long development.  Living and sleeping in the dusty environs had left me with an unshakable cold which turned out to be a sinus infection. Relentless breathing of dust it turns out isn’t terribly good for you.

Anyway my house is covered in murky brown stuff, thick and lumpy. After a bit of investigation online which presented the most polarised of views  from those who say leave well alone, the render is there to hide something terrible – to those of  marvellous transformation.

Well after a very short period of deliberation I decided the brown-stuff had to go. Whenever I showed people a picture of my house the first comment would be – what are you going to do about the brown stuff? Followed by,  what actually is it?.

It’s work in progress but in my uniformed opinion it’s all looking pretty promising.

spruce before

So up went the scaffolding

scaffolding800

and then the curtain, which in my head I assumed was something to do with the big reveal – obviously something from reality TV has seeped into my psyche. But actually this was just to stop the dust from flying into neighbouring properties.

scaffolding and curtain800

And now in about two weeks time I shall see the final result…but as I said things are already looking rather promising.. a sneaky peek

Entrance before

entrance before

Entrance now

brick entrance

I now have two weeks to decide what colour the masonry and window sills are going to be…

Leave a comment