One reception room or two?

Renovation is full relentless decision making. Little ones like; what type of light switch do I want? medium sized ones like should the bedroom door open to the left or the right? And huge ones like should I knock my two receptions together?

I’ve decided after much prevarication to partially knock out the wall between the two reception rooms. My first thought was to keep them separate, the first would be a living-room; sofa, TV etc and the second a home-office , books, writing desk, day bed perhaps. But then I realised that actually I was designing a room for the life I wished I had. The fantasy where I carry out a job I love that pays really well and allows me to work from home sitting at my beautiful desk, gazing out of the double doors and into a well cultivated garden.

The reality is that I work in an office 9-5, five days a week and that beautiful study would end up a dusty relic.  The problem with un-used rooms is they end up becoming big storage areas for anything and everything. I had one of those in my last property and I would occasionally think wow I haven’t been in that room for six weeks and the dust would grow like tumble-weed.

The inspiration below

dividing-doors

livingroom_with_wall

With wall

livingroom_without_wall

Without wall

So this is the new horizon,instant pro there is now light from both sides, so far there aren’t any obvious cons. I will need to buy more furniture to fill the new space but that is really a  pro. The hideous window at the back will be replaced by something suitably Victorian. The only question is around the fireplace.. the previous owners removed the chimney breast and I’m wondering whether to restore it.

Leave a Reply

